Skip to main content
30 Mar 20211 minute read

Construction adopts new PQQ standard

Construction adopts new PQQ standard

Construction industry giants including Balfour Beatty (an ECA Member) and Mace have adopted the newly launched Common Assessment Standard (CAS).

ECA’s Director of CSR Paul Reeve, deputy chair of the Cross-Industry Body, recently wrote in Construction News about the key role of the new CAS in simplifying and improving a complex system for the benefit of everyone in the construction sector.

He said, “The CLC has highlighted the burden of inefficient and excessive prequalification, and the arrival of data sharing means the Common Assessment Standard is now on course to deliver the solution the industry has been searching for since the earliest days of construction prequalification.”

To read the full article, click here.

The Common Assessment Standard is an industry-agreed question set with two levels of certification – desktop and site-based – and companies can apply to any Recognised Assessment Body to get the appropriate level dependent upon their trade, size and requirements of their clients.

Created by Build UK, of which ECA is a key member, with the support of CECA, the Common Assessment Standard is endorsed by the Construction Leadership Council (CLC), which is actively seeking its adoption throughout Government construction procurement, including the Construction Playbook.

Learn more about the CAS here